Pay Per Click Management, Search Engine Optimization, SEO Web design Services to leverage your business over competition. Enhance your search engine presence while maximizing your return on your marketing Budget.
SEO Pulse is an industry pioneer in SEO services including search engine optimization,search engine ranking, search engine positioning, Internet marketing and link popularity necessary for you to be an online corporate success.
Yesterday, I received an email asking me to verify my Google adwords information as my payment failed to process. I found it very strange and I thought that Google database is going banana as I have NO Google adwords account .The email was as follows:
Dear Google Adwords Customer,
We were unable to process your payment.
Your ads will be suspended soon unless we can process your payment.
To prevent your ads from being suspended, please update your payment information.
Please sign in to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login, and update your payment information.
——————————————————————————-
This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
——————————————————————————-
Thank you for choosing Google Adwords
So I followed the link to the home page of the so called My Google Adwords. The link directed me to a different URL: http://adwords.google.com.edr3j.cn/select/Login which has nothing to do with Google Adwords URL.
So I started asking around in forums, family and friends and what I found was really worrying hundreds of internet user received these emails also. The facts I discovered was shocking , hackers are going around sending emails to several email addresses hoping that some of them are already Google adwords account holders and trick them using Google name (which Google has no idea about) into giving them their credit card number .
The email they send is really convincing for readers because of http://adwords.google.com/select/login link provided at the end of the email which made me thinking what if I really had a Google adwords account and I didn’t notice the browser URL before going forward.
My personal advice is when you receive an email from anyone (even from Google itself) don’t take it for granted specially when there is money at stake .Please when you follow any link provided in any email received, make sure that the link you followed is exactly the same as the one typed in your browser.
Please forward this post to anyone who you think has a Google adwords account and spread the word around.
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.twitter (2) Add new tag (2) MSN (3) search engine optimization (2) mobile search engines (1) Adword (1) generate traffic (2) search results (1) google page rank (2) internet marketing (2) Search Engines (5) link exchange (3) Link Building (4) google analytics (2) seo for mobile (1) social media (2) making money online (1) Social Sites (2) Google (13) google adwords (2) blogs seo (1) SEO (6) making money (1) Facebook (4) Yahoo (9) Blogs (1) mobiles (1) Microsoft (3) AdSense (1) links (4)
May 12th, 2008 at 8:24 pm
Yes, i got one of these emails too, which at first got me curious because I subscribe to almost every facility offered by google EXCEPT adwords. The thing is I do not click on email links, i highlight and copy the link instead (something I learned after my savings bank was the target of a phishing scam several years back), which means i ended up at the REAL google link and not the .edr3j.cn one, which by the way is now offline.
May 17th, 2008 at 10:41 pm
[...] [...]
June 10th, 2009 at 3:48 am
Interesting post, keep the good stuff coming, good content appreciated!